From The Collaborative International Dictionary of English v.0.48:

Ghana \Gha"na\ (g[aum]"n[.a]) prop. n.
   A country in Western Africa, bordering the North Atlantic
   Ocean, between Cote d'Ivoire and Togo, with Burkina Faso
   bordering on the north, with a population of 17,698,271 (July
   1996 est), and a total area of 238,540 sq km. The government
   is a constitutional democracy, and the capital city is Accra.

   Note: It has a tropical climate, being warm and comparatively
         dry along the southeast coast, hot and humid in
         southwest and hot and dry in the north. Its terrain is
         mostly low plains with a dissected plateau in the
         south-central area.
         The official language is English, and several African
         languages are spoken, including Akan, Moshi-Dagomba,
         Ewe, and Ga. The population is comprised 99.8% of black
         Africans and 0.2% European and other nationalities. The
         major tribes are: Akan 44%, Moshi-Dagomba 16%, Ewe 13%,
         and Ga 8%. The religious composition is 38% indigenous
         beliefs, 30% Muslim, 24% Christian and 8% others.
         The unit of currency is the new cedi; 1 new cedi (C) =
         100 pesewas. The exchange rates for the cedi were: new
         cedis per US$1 - 1,246.11 (September 1995), 956.71
         (1994), 649.06 (1993), 437.09 (1992), 367.83 (1991).
         Navigable waterways include the Volta, Ankobra, and
         Tano Rivers, providing 168 km of perennial navigation
         for launches and lighters. --CIA Factbook 1996
Feedback Form